Lok Sabha election 2024 LIVE Updates: PM Modi begins a whirlwind campaign in Karnataka today

Lok Sabha election 2024 LIVE Updates: The political parties have intensified their election campaigns for the remaining constituencies as the second phase of the Indian general elections culminated on Friday. Prime Minister Narendra Modi will be on a whirlwind tour of Karnataka on April 28 and 29, where he will address public rallies in five districts and make appearances for the BJP.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi addresses an election rally ahead of the Lok Sabha elections (PTI)

He will reach Belagavi on April 28 morning and address a public meeting at 10 am. He would then fly to Sirsi to attend a public meeting at 12 noon. The Prime Minister’s next destination would be Davangere where he is expected to participate in an election rally at 2 p.m. Later, Modi would address a public meeting in Ballari at 4 p.m. On April 29, the Prime Minister was scheduled to travel to Bagalkote to attend a public meeting at 11 am.

On Saturday, Prime Minister Modi called on the people of Goa to defeat what he said were ‘anti-India forces’ that the Congress was trying to strengthen and bring back his government for the third consecutive term. On the other hand, Congress leader Priyanka Gandhi said that while the ruling BJP’s top leadership may deny it now, they would change the Constitution if returned to power, while addressing an election rally in Gujarat.

The second phase of voting for 88 parliamentary constituencies spread across 13 states and Union Territories (UTs) recorded a voter turnout of around 63.50%, the Election Commission of India (ECI) said. The first phase of elections took place on April 19, with 102 seats in 21 states and Union Territories.

All eyes are on two major political alliances namely the INDIA bloc and Prime Minister Narendra Modi-led NDA – the main competitors in the 2024 Lok Sabha elections. While the INDIA bloc consists of political parties such as Congress, AAP, the TMC etc. The NDA has the BJP, the PMK, the JDU etc as affiliated parties.

The NDA is eyeing its third consecutive term this general election, with echoes of ‘abki baar 400 pairs’, while the opposition INDIA bloc is taking an economic approach to their campaign, promising MSP for farmers and cash benefits to women in their manifesto .

Here is the phase-wise schedule for the 2024 Lok Sabha elections:

Phase 1 – April 19 (poll completed)

Phase 2 – April 26 (poll completed)

Phase 3 – May 7

Phase 4 – May 13

Phase 5 – May 20

Phase 6 – May 25

Phase 7 – June 1

The votes of the Lok Sabha elections will be counted and the results will be declared on June 4.

Follow all updates here: