Ashland’s Hartson earns Roosevelt Robinson Memorial Sports Scholarship


Jenna Hartson’s rise to success was the result of hard work and dedication to a few sports.

And the Ashland High School senior was rewarded for those efforts by being the 20th recipient of the 2024 Roosevelt Robinson Memorial Sports Scholarship.

AHS volleyball coach Jenise Vaughn said Hartson’s contributions far outweighed what was seen on the court.

“In addition to Jenna’s physical abilities and volleyball talent, she also brought intangibles that took our team play and camaraderie to the next level,” Vaughn said. “Jenna’s hard work ethic is undeniable. Her leadership and maturity were consistently recognized by her peers and coaches. She is committed to being a great role model for her teammates and the younger generation, and her attitude and work ethic, both on and off the field, exemplify that.”

Vaughn said her former volleyball captain deserves the award.

“She is worthy of this award and I am so proud of her for her achievements,” she added. “I am so excited to see what she accomplishes next in her post-secondary and professional career.”

Highlights of Hartson’s athletic career

Hartson was the freshman team captain for the Arrows, culminating in her senior season as a varsity captain. She was the team MVP, a Mansfield News Journal Athlete of the Week, named to the TG 1st Team, All-District 6 2nd Team and received an OCC Honorable Mention.

She finished her volleyball career ranked No. 1 in career assists with 1,776.

While swimming her senior season, Hartson was a varsity captain, winner of the George Valentine Sportsmanship Award, OCC champion in the 50MfFreestyle and was named to the Ohio High School Swimming Coaches Association All-District Team.

She also participates in Student Council, Arrow Inner Circle, Learning Through Internships, a Norma Foundation Student Representative, National Honors Society, French National Honors Society, Arrow2Arrow Mentoring and choir.

Rebecca Smith, Scholarship Committee Member, said: “Of our twenty recipients we had twelve boys and eight girls. There were 10 different sports represented. Five winners excelled in two sports and last year’s Jon Metzger excelled in three.”

The award was established in 2004 following Robinson’s induction into the ACS Hall of Fame and was renamed after his death in 2011.